Introducing THREE TEARS ON BLOODSTAINED FLESH

So I finally did it. I shot my second feature. Holycrapwhataride.

THREE TEARS ON BLOODSTAINED FLESH is a modern, Midwestern giallo that tells the tale of a man who returns to the small town he’s long since abandoned to bury his niece, who’s recently passed away. Convinced her death wasn’t an accident, he starts probing about the town to uncover the truth. In doing so, he discovers their dark secrets, which may be more than he bargained for.

It was a bit of a struggle getting this beast before cameras (but hey, isn’t that usually the case for true indie films?). I wrote the script a couple years back when talking with my friend Bill Gobin, who had been persistent in asking me if I had a project I thought he’d be right for as the lead. I didn’t, but came up with the idea for the film and sat down to write it (this was around Fall/Winter 2009), including penning the lead character, Dominic Merrick, with him in mind. After a brief attempt at getting the project off the ground, we realized the time wasn’t right, and shelved it indefinitely. Flash forward to Summer 2011, and we found ourselves having immediate access to some resources that fit well with the project. So I pulled the trigger and we aimed to see what we could organize in a very short time frame. Things just sort of came together, and before we knew it, we were rolling cameras in November. Of course things continued to prove anything but easy, but I’m just getting started.

Principal photography ran from November 3-13, 2011 in Evansville and Huntingburg, IN. We had actors fly in from L.A. and drive in from all over, including Nashville, Fort Wayne, Indianapolis, as well a bevy of local talent from the Evansville area. It was grueling. More or less, I crammed a month-long shoot into 11 days. One day we had an epic achievement: in addition to the day being lengthy on its own, there was also daylight savings time that landed on that night… so we technically shot a 25 hour day. Ouch. I myself got embarrassingly excited when I got 4 hours of sleep one night.  Most nights I only got 2-3. Yet, despite running ragged for a week plus, no one ever complained. There was a raw, indeterminable energy on set that was infectious. Every director says this, but I seriously believe it: I had the best cast and crew ever for this sucker.

You can learn more about the film by visiting www.cinephreakpictures.com/threetearsfilm, and stay tuned for more blogginess about the production and film as it progresses. Too much to cram into this little post, so… to be continued.

Like the film on Facebook at www.facebook.com/threetearsfilm

~ by cinephreakpictures on October 12, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
