WAY OVERDUE FIRST POST OF 2011 – UPDATES ON OBSOLESCENCE, SHADE OF GREY, FOXXY MADONNA, & MORE

I haven’t posted a Cinephreak blog yet this year. Doh! Many apologies for those few select of you who actually care. A lot’s been happening, and even more’s about to, in the world o’ Cinephreak.

OBSOLESCENCE
The film was officially wrapped with it’s supersexy final cut in January. Since then it’s been submitted to numerous festivals. More (hopefully good) news to come on that as it develops. I’ve also sent DVDs of the film out for review, and so far it’s gotten some fantastic writeups. Here’s a list of the reviews thus far:

1. Bob Freville, Killing Boxx (10 Cleavers)
2. Richard Propes, The Independent Critic (B+ / *** ½ out of 4)
3. Synergy Magazine
4. Josh Samford, Rogue Cinema
5. Brian Skutle, Sonic Cinema (A-)
6. Alfred Eaker, Fringe Cinema

Honestly, I’m quite humbled by some of the comments these folks have offered. I was proud of the film, personally, and knew that we had something great here. But I’d be lying if I said I expected it to be received this well. Several of the critics, several of my closest filmmaking peers, and my wife (my favorite critic!) have claimed OBSOLESCENCE to be my best work. I may not have been expecting that, but I’m thrilled to hear it. I’ve updated the film’s website @ cinephreakpictures.com so keep checking by for further updates as this baby picks up steam!

SHADE OF GREY
March 9th marked the one year anniversary of SHADE OF GREY being released on DVD! Crazy how time flies… Feel free to help celebrate by either re-visiting the film, or picking up your own copy anywhere DVDs are sold online.

Two new glowing reviews have also popped up for the film recently. Check them out!

Bob Freville, Kotori Magazine
Brian Skutle, Sonic Cinema

FOXXY MADONNA VS THE BLACK DEATH
Somehow, Foxxy keeps making a comeback. New reviews for the film keep popping up. Four years out of the gate and this baby still keeps bringing daddy back change. Check out what critics continue to say:

Bob Freville, Killing Boxx (8 Cleavers)
Richard Propes, The Independent Critic (B / *** out of 4)
Brian Skutle, Sonic Cinema (A+)

FOXXY also got mentioned (out of the blue) in a recent column dissecting how indie filmmakers are resurrecting grindhouse better than the studios: http://www.beyondhollywood.com/f-bombs-grinding-better-than-the-pros/ It should be noted how incredibly flattered I am to have FOXXY mentioned alongside some of the titles in this column, too.

The film also played recently at an Indiana Film Showcase at the Saint Regis Club in Warsaw, IN on March 4, 2011. I was unable to attend, but hear that Foxxy was very well-received.

Apparently FOXXY still has some life in her. Who knew?

MISCELLANIOUS OTHER CRAP
I’m currently working on prepping two new projects for this year (oh-so-much more to come on these soon, sorry for the tease), which is consuming most of my time. I’m widdling away at the feature-length documentary on the making of my good friend and fellow Indiana filmmaker Zack Parker’s latest, SCALENE (which is excellent, I highly recommend you check it out whenever you have the chance!). I’m prepping a double-feature screening with my friend and local filmmaker P.J. Starks, where we’ll be screening OBSOLESCENCE and his newest short, A MIND BESIDE ITSELF. We’re still selecting the venue, but it’s slated to take place in or around Evansville. More to come on that as it develops. Aside from that, I’m continuing to write away on some down-the-road future projects, and am working on a couple freelance gigs. Because I’m a dork I’m working on finalizing my Top 10 of 2010 list (a future blog), where I’ll offer you my over-opinionated rants on what was cinematically awesome, and atrocious, from last year. Thanks for your patience in my brief hiatus. I’ll try to make up for it with more awesome throughout the year. In the meantime, stay Cinephreaky…

Best,
Jake

~ by cinephreakpictures on April 4, 2011.

One Response to “WAY OVERDUE FIRST POST OF 2011 – UPDATES ON OBSOLESCENCE, SHADE OF GREY, FOXXY MADONNA, & MORE”

  1. I love your work jakob! Let me now about OBSOLESCENE and A MIND BESIDE ITSELF screening! Want to check them out DAMNIT! let me know or ill chop your fucking leg off and feed it to pigeons (just kidding..really..dont tell my therapists) HA!

Leave a Reply

 
